Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Shiraz Challenge Winners Global Trader 2010

2010 Global Trader Shiraz Challenge Winners

19:27, 15th July, 2010 by

The eagerly anticipated results of WINE magazine’s 2010 Global Trader Shiraz Challenge were announced at Catharina’s Restaurant in Steenberg today, with top honours going to Provenance Shiraz 2007, made by Dewaldt Heyns from Tulbagh cellar Saronsberg.

The award for the Best Value Shiraz, determined by dividing the average price of all the wines by the price of the individual wine and multiplying by the Star rating for that wine, went to Obikwa Shiraz 2009, made by Distell winemaker Michael Bucholz.

Judging Procedures

There were 184 wines entered into this year’s Shiraz Challenge. The wines were tasted blind (labels out of sight) by a panel of five judges consisting of Christian Eedes (chairman), Christine Rudman, Carrie Adams, James Pietersen and Miguel Chan.

46 wines were selected to go through to a second round, allowing the panel a more detailed examination of the wines. Two wines tied for first place with the same average arithmetic score.

Three of the judges had scored the Saronsberg higher, making it the winning wine on the day.

Top 10
The top 10 scoring wines draw attention to the depth of quality and breadth of styles that the Shiraz category displays.

Provenance 2007
Rickety Bridge 2008

Benguela Cove Walker Bay Premium Selection 2008
Eagles’ Nest 2008
Spier Private Collection 2008
Hartenberg 2006
Terra D’Aria The Soprano Reserve 2008
Flagstone Dark Horse 2007
Windmeul Reserve 2008
Rainbow’s End Single Vineyard 2008