Friday, December 24, 2010

Cape South Coast New Wine Region approved

Cape South Coast Region

Newly demarcated and approved region 10th of November 2010, bringing the number to 5 now, the other 4 being Breede River Valley, Klein Karoo, Coastal Region and Olifants River.

Cape South Coast have now 5 district namely Cape Agulhas,Overberg, Plettenberg Bay, Swellendam and Walker Bay.

2 new wards have been added making the total to now to 14 and the 2 new wards are Herbertsdale and Stillbaai East.

The following wards remain unchanged

Elim (Cape Agulhas)
Elgin,Greyton,Klein River,Theewater (Overberg)
Buffeljags, Stormsvlei (Swellendam)
Bot River,Upper Hemel-en-Aarde Valley,Hemel-en-Aarde Ridge,Hemel-en-Aarde Valley,Sunday's Glen (Walker Bay)

Another affirmation of the right direction SAWIS is taking in mapping the various unique terroir of South Africa, when will they cancelled Wine of Western Cape origin or Coastal Region Origin? It can only be positive, beneficial as well as a unique selling point to South Africa.