Monday, February 28, 2011

Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show 2011

Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show 2011

I was humbly pleased and honored to be asked once again to participate as a Judge at this year Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show 2011, South Africa's most respected wine judging competition.

This will be my second year as a Judge, 2010 was my first and I previously officiate as an Associate Judge in 2008 & 2009.

This year marked the 10th Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show.

The 2011 judging panel comprises three international judges and six local judges, chaired by leading wine authority, Michael Fridjhon.

The international judges are Thierry Desseauve, one of the founding partners (with Michel Bettane) of the La Revue de Vins du France and co-author and publisher of France's wine guide 'Le Grand Guide des Vins de France'; Neal Martin, of the UK, founder of and now The Wine Advocate's South African reviewer and Robert Parker's Critic-at-large; and Debra Meiburg, founder and director of the Hong Kong International Wine and Spirit Competition as well as a broadcaster and educator.

The South African judges are Miguel Chan (group sommelier, Southern Sun hotels), Ginette de Fleuriot (Cape Wine Master and national retail sales manager, Wine Worx/Vinimark), Gary Jordan (proprietor and winemaker, Jordan Wines), Christian Eedes (wine writer), François Rautenbach (head sommelier wine programme, Singita Lodges) and Master of Wine Cathy van Zyl.

The participation of a team of associate judges, drawn from the pool of rising South African winemaking and judging talent, is included in a supportive capacity.

The list of wines and producers in attendance at the public tastings will be kept under wraps until 1 June when the full results of the show are announced.

Said Fridjhon, "The past decade has seen extraordinary changes at the top end of the South African wine industry and the show played an important role in discovering new talent and showcasing this achievement."

Diarise the dates for the annual public tastings in Cape Town on Thursday 9 June 2011 at the CTICC and in Johannesburg on Friday 10 June at the Sandton Sun. Highlights of the show are the unveiling of the most successful producer and the discovery of the show.